AABA Nominations Committee Report Submitted by Steve Leigh

The 2023-2024 Nominations Committee conducted the election of five Executive Committee positions. The committee consisted of Steven Leigh (Past and Acting President and Chair), and Drs. Anne Grauer, Dennis O'Rourke, and Karen Rosenberg. The AABA thanks these colleagues for their efforts.

Open positions included three officer roles (President-Elect, Vice President and Program Chair, and Secretary) and two committee chairs (History and Honors and Student Programs Committees). Nominations were solicited through monthly AABA Newsletters and through contact with potential candidates, with self-nominations encouraged. A web-based form was opened in July to receive nominations. In addition, nominations could be made during the abstract submission process (as we have done for some time), with the deadline concurrent with the abstract submission deadline (October 15).

The nominations webform received a total of ten nominations from July through October 15, with an additional 11 nominations submitted through the abstract submission system. Colleagues submitted several nominations directly to the committee. As of October 15, a total of 41 nominations had been received. The pool of nominations was diverse along numerous dimensions.

Several individuals were nominated for more than one position, and some individuals received multiple nominations for a single position. In all, 28 Regular Members were nominated for these positions (18 females, 10 males). Two candidates did not respond to correspondence regarding their nominations. Of the 26 remaining candidates, 10 females agreed to stand for election while 6 males pursued candidacies. Of candidates who chose to run, only two were available for president, three for vice president, two for secretary, with the remaining individuals running for either Student Programs Chair (4) or History and Honors Chair (5). Thus, the Nominations Committee was asked only to select three candidates for the committee chair positions, then forward these nominations to the Executive Committee to choose two finalists.

The Nominations Committee reviewed materials from each candidate, including a CV and statement. Three candidates for vice president and both chair positions were forwarded to the Executive Committee for final review. The Executive Committee chose the following candidates:

President-Elect: Lyle W. Konigsberg, Anne C. Stone Vice President: Siobhán B. Cooke, Amy L. Rector Secretary: Kristi L. Lewton, Julienne N. Rutherford

History and Honors Committee Chair: Nathaniel J. Dominy, Ashley S. Hammond

Student Programs Committee Chair: Kevin G. Hatala, Sean D. Tallman

Voting opened on January 12, 2024 and closed on February 10, 2024. Turnout for the election was high, with over 200 votes for most positions. The results of the officer elections were: President-Elect, Anne C. Stone; Vice President and Program Chair, Amy L. Rector; Secretary, Kristi L. Lewton. For committee chairs, members elected Ashley S. Hammond (History and Honors Committee Chair) and Kevin G. Hatala (Student Programs Chair).

The AABA thanks all candidates. We look forward to working with our new Executive Committee members as their terms of office begin at the conclusion of our annual business meeting.