## Ethics Committee, 2020 Report to the AAPA membership Prepared by Robert L. Anemone, Chair of the Committee

The 2019-20 Ethics Committee was chaired by Robert L. Anemone and consisted of the following members (in alphabetical order): Elizabeth DiGangi, Michele Goldsmith, Nina Jablonski, Heather Norton, Julienne Rutherford, David Strait, Jen Wagner, and Rachel Watkins. Maya Szafraniec (UC Santa Barbara) joined our committee this year as an Ethics Fellow to join Cara Hirst (University College London) who has just competed her second year.

Unfortunately, the Committee was inactive during this pandemic year and as a result we were not able to continue our work on educating our members and raising awareness throughout our discipline of the important role that Ethics plays in an academic discipline like ours. We look forward to returning to an active role as the main AAPA Committee concerned with the role of Ethics in Biological Anthropology.

The terms of two members are ending this year: Michele Goldsmith and Nina Jablonski, and Robert Anemone has decided to not return for a third year as Committee Chair. Returning members and their remaining term years are as follows: Heather Norton (1 years), Julienne Rutherford (1 years), David Strait (1 years), and Jen Wagner (1 years), Elizabeth DiGangi (2 years), Rachel Watkins (2 years). We will need to recruit 2 new members for 3-year terms to replace Goldsmith and Jablonski, as well as a new Committee Chair.

As part of its usual duties, the Committee will be available as a non-adjudicative body to promote ethics literacy among AAPA members and to serve as a resource for AAPA members to discuss ethical challenges. Information about ethics consultations for AAPA members is available on the AAPA website.