American Association of Biological Anthropologists Business Meeting of the 92nd Annual Meeting April 21, 2023 Election Report Chair of the Election Committee and President Elect, Leslea J. Hlusko

This year there was only one elected position to fill. Treasurer Graciela Cabana is moving to be co-editor of the Yearbook of Biological Anthropology as of the Business Meeting on April 21, 2023. As one person can only hold one position on the Executive Committee, she is resigning her position as Treasurer. Elections were held to appoint a person to fill the rest of the current Treasurer term. The elected person will be allowed to run again for a full term as Treasurer, if they want to do so.

The election was announced via the AABA Newsletter and by a 19 September 2023 AABA News post on the http://www.bioanth.org website.

Nominations were accepted by email (sent to the Nominations Committee Chair) and through the survey that all meeting attendees are asked to complete at the time of registration and abstract submission. The nomination window closed on October 17, 2022. For all nominations, including self-nominations, we required a brief statement explaining how/why the nominee is well-suited to take on this leadership role. Nominations that did not include this statement were not considered.

Four people were nominated. One declined, another was a student member and therefore ineligible to hold the position as our By-Laws indicate that only full members hold elected office. The remaining two nominees agreed to stand for election: Jonathan D. Bethard and Michelle Bezanson. They both submitted disclosure forms and candidate bio statements.

Voting opened with the January 2023 Newletter and closed on February 15, 2023. As specified in the AABA *Constitution and Bylaws*, only Regular members can vote in the election of AABA officers. The link for voting was hosted by Burk Associates. The website authenticated voters as Regular Members, and then permitted submission of votes. Members were required to renew membership in order to vote.

By the time voting closed, a total of 68 Regular Members had voted. Jonathan Bethard received the majority of votes. He was notified by President Steve Leigh on February 17, 2023, and accepted the position.