## Proposed By-Laws Change to Article VIII 'Publications'

The AAPA Executive Committee and Publications Committee propose a bylaws change to Article VIII Publications. We propose the elimination of the explicit reference to the journal name, *American Journal of Physical Anthropology*, as our official journal. The reference hails from a time when the AAPA owned the journal name, which it no longer does. The title of the journal is owned by Wiley. While we anticipate that AJPA will remain our official journal for the foreseeable future, dictating it by name in Article VIII is no longer desirable given how long it takes to change our bylaws. Should anything happen with our relationship to Wiley we would have a multi-year period before we could de-designate AJPA as the official journal. Our proposal removes this issue while still allowing the AJPA to remain the official journal of the association for as long as the association membership desires. The Yearbook, the title of which we own, will still be mentioned by name in a later part of the bylaws.

We recommend the following changes:

The Article that Currently Reads:

## ARTICLE VIII Publications

Section 1. The official journal of the Association is the American Journal of Physic al Anthropology. The Executive Committee with the approval of a majority of the regular members present and voting at the annual meeting may establish additional publications.

Would have the following proposed change (highlighted):

## ARTICLE VIII Publications

Section 1. The Association will publish at least one official journal, designated as such by the Executive Committee with the approval of the majority of the regular members present and voting at the business meeting. The Executive Committee with the approval of a majority of the regular members present and voting at the annual meeting may establish additional publications

Executive Committee: Susan Antón, M. Anne Katzenberg, Anne Grauer, Karen Rosenberg, Peter Ellison, Trudy Turner, Leslea Hlusko, Joan Richtsmeier, James Josh Snodgrass, Anne Stone

Publications Committee: Peter Ellison, Trudy Turner, Tony Di Fiore, Sarah Elton, Connie Mulligan.