## *Ad Hoc* Ethics Committee, Report to the 2016 AAPA membership Prepared by Graciela Cabana and Jennifer Wagner

The 2015-16 *ad hoc* Ethics Committee was co-chaired by Jennifer Wagner and Graciela Cabana and consisted of the following additional members (in alphabetical order): Deborah Bolnick, Herbert Covert, Eric Delson, Heather J.H. Edgar, Ann M. Kakaliouras, Heather Shattuck-Heidorn, Angela Mallard, Robin Nelson, Erin Riley, Karen Rosenberg, and Trudy Turner.

Over the course of the 2015-2016 programmatic year, the *ad hoc* Ethics Committee completed work on various pending items, including:

- Prepared and made available on the AAPA website key ethics-related resources for Biological Anthropology. (link to: <u>http://www.physanth.org/about/position-statements/aapa-code-ethics-sexualharrassment/ethics-resources/</u>)
- Finished drafting a Statement of Sexual Harassment and Assault, approved by the Executive Committee in November 2015. (link to: <u>http://www.physanth.org/documents/37/AAPA\_ExComm\_Statement\_on\_Sexual\_Harassment\_and\_Assault\_FPa.pdf</u>).
- 3. Began work on the development of discipline-specific case studies of ethical issues. In Spring 2016, the committee placed a call to the AAPA membership for real cases of ethical issues. The Committee will develop these into useful case studies in the coming year as part of the Committee's ongoing effort to develop educational resources for Biological Anthropologists.

Additionally, the Ethics Committee initiated and launched Ethics Fellow Program with the central purpose of providing interested members—particularly those early in their careers—an opportunity to engage actively with the Ethics Committee and gain experience with ethics educational and research projects.

The Ethics Committee solicited applications and selected two Fellows for the inaugural 2016-17 programmatic year: Jennifer Eyre, doctoral student at New York University, and Kristina Zarenko, doctoral student at University of South Carolina at Columbia. The newly appointed Fellows will be advising the Ethics Committee on the development of case studies. They will also develop a discrete research project, working closely with mentors within the Ethics Committee.

Last, the *ad hoc* Ethics Committee has been laying groundwork for its expected transition to standing committee status. The committee submitted recommendations to the Executive Committee for the purpose, charged duties, and composition of the Ethics Committee as a standing committee. These recommendations were reviewed, revised, and approved by the Executive Committee in July 2015.

Based on those recommendations, the AAPA President established the composition and scope of the Ethics Committee, beginning in the 2016-17 programmatic year. Graciela Cabana and Jennifer Wagner will continue to co-Chair the Committee for an additional two-year term. Returning members and term years are as follows: Herbert Covert (1 year), Eric Delson (1 year), Ann Kakaliouras (2 years), Robin Nelson (2 years), Karen Rosenberg (1 year), and Trudy Turner (3 years). Christina Torres-Rouff (University of California, Merced) will newly join the Committee for a 3-year term.

In the upcoming year, the Ethics Committee will work with its newly-selected Ethics Fellows to develop case study resources. As part of its usual duties, the Committee will also be available as a non-adjudicative body to promote ethics literacy among AAPA members and to serve as a resource for AAPA members to discuss ethical challenges.