2016 Report for the Executive Committee of the AAPA: Nominations Committee Atlanta, April, 2016

I. Executive Committee Elections

Three Executive Committee member positions were open for election this year. Nominations were solicited from the AAPA membership (in the call for papers, within the online registration, and on the website). Nominations (including self nominations) were sent to via email to executive committee members or sent via the AAPA registration system query. A total of 28 nominees were eligible for consideration. This number represents an increase in nominations (25 last year). Additional nominees were determined to be ineligible because they were not AAPA members or they currently hold an executive committee position that is continuing, and they are not included in the above total.

The Nominations Committee for the Executive Committee slate covered the main sub-specialties of Physical Anthropology and represented different ranks (junior to senior): Sheela Athreya (Associate Professor, Texas A&M University, paleoanthropology/functional morphology), Meg Crofoot (Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis, primatology), and Haagan Klaus (Assistant Professor, George Mason University, bioarchaeology). For each position, the committee narrowed the field of nominees to two with two alternates in order to fill the slate for each position on the ballot. The committee considered overall subspecialty and geographic representation, experience in the field, in AAPA and other service, and seniority when selecting nominees.

Following the selection of the candidate slates, full members of AAPA voted via an electronic poll designed by Burke. The initial solicitation was sent on January 15, 2015. A second reminder was sent to those who had not voted in mid-February, with the poll closing at midnight on March 4, 2016. A total of 466 ballots was cast, an increase from last year (2011 = 191, 2012 = 441, 2013 = 520, 2014 = 480, 2016 = 401).

The president elect of AAPA is Leslie Aiello. The new vice-president is Josh Snodgrass, and the new Executive Committee Member is Lisa Sattenspiel. The terms of Drs. Snodgrass and Sattenspiel start Friday, April 15, following the business meeting.

II. Darwin and Lasker Awards

Nomination packets were solicited for two awards:

- 1) Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
- 2) Lasker Award for Outstanding Service

Nominations were solicited from the AAPA membership (in the call for papers, in on-line registration questionnaire, and on the website). Nominations were due via email or regular mail no later than September 15, 2015. Two nominees for the Lasker Award and 14 for the Darwin Award were considered, all of which were new or renewed nominations. All of the nomination letters were submitted electronically.

Nomination packets for the Lasker Award were submitted via email to the Executive Committee for discussion and voting on October 28, 2015, which concluded October 29, 2015. Nomination packets for the Darwin Award were submitted via email to the full Executive Committee on October 21, 2015, and voting concluded on October 28, 2015.

As per our previous practice, submissions of new and/or updated nominations made in 2015 but not awarded in 2016 are to be retained for future consideration. Therefore, all

remaining nominees will be reconsidered for each award in the coming fall. Members are encouraged to submit new nominations to Anne Stone by September 15, 2016.

The 2015 winners are:

 Dr. Michael Crawford (University of Kansas), Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
Dr. Leslie Aiello (Wenner-Gren Foundation for Anthropological Research), Lasker Award for Outstanding Service

III. Student Liaison to the Executive Committee

The position of Student Liaison to the Executive Committee was established at the 2012 Executive Committee meeting to help increase student participation in the AAPA. Applications for the position were solicited from interested graduate student members in the call for papers, via an email blast sent by Burke to student members, on the AAPA website, and posted by our current student liaisons to our Facebook page. Application materials were sent to Stone via email.

Seven applications were submitted by the September 15, 2015, deadline. The applications were reviewed and discussed by the chair of the nominations committee, the current student liaison, and a subset of the EC who had no conflict of interest.

Our Student Liaison for 2016-17 is Kathryn Grow Allen, a Ph.D. candidate from the State University of New York, Buffalo. Her term officially starts with the 2016 Executive Committee meeting and continues to next year's Executive Committee meeting.

I thank all those who considered the many outstanding AAPA members for each of these positions and awards.

Respectfully Submitted, Anne C. Stone, Nominations Committee Chair