2016 Report for the Executive Committee of the AAPA Student Awards Committee (formerly, Student Affairs)

April 15, 2016, Atlanta, Georgia

Pollitzer Travel Awards

The deadline for entries for the 2016 essay competition was the end of the day January 1, 2016. This year, we had 68 entries. For the first time, we had an online submission form, which worked well.

In 2014, the deadline was January 15th and students could win in multiple years. In 2015, the deadline was shifted to December 1 and students could only win once in their careers. The number of entries was 40. The 2015 AAPA Executive Committee implemented a new policy that allowed for students to win a Pollitzer Travel Award more than once and shifted the deadline to January 1st, as a compromise position from the 2015 policies that had too-restrictive of an effect.

The prompt was: The reasons why more people exceed what is considered to be a healthy weight are multifactorial in that the underpinnings are social, environmental, epigenetic, and genetic – and therefore our evolutionary history played a role in shaping how and why this is occurring. Biological anthropologists are well-positioned to offer tremendous insight. How does knowledge about the evolution of our species inform this important public health issue?

Fourteen judges were recruited to evaluate the essays: Rebecca Ackerman, Michelle Bezanson, Jose Braga, Lucas Delezene, Lee Gettler, Leslea Hlusko, Michaela Huffman, Rebecca Jabbour, Rachel Menegaz, Jackson Njau, Phil Reno, Chris Schmitt, Daniel Temple, and Anna Waterman. Twelve of us scored fifteen and two scored 13. Every essay was read and scored by three judges. Essays were scores were out of a possible 100 points: 45 points for clarity and focus, 45 points for originality of thought and insight, and 10 points for grammar and spelling. Scores ranged from 58 to 95.7. The average was 81.5 with a standard deviation of 7.86.

Essays scored between 90-100 out of 100	n = 8
Essays scored between 85-89	n = 17
Essays scored between 80-84	n = 19
Essays scored between 75-79	n = 13
Essays scored 74 or below	n = 11

There was a distributional break between 80 and 81, which was used as the breaking point for awarding prizes. This put 41 students on the award list. All were AAPA members, and after confirmation of their registration to attend the meeting, 40 awards of \$500 were made. One student declined the award because they had decided not to attend.

Winners were:

Kathryn	Allen	Carmen	Hové
Amy	Anderson	Vishal	Khetpal
Samantha	Archer	Sandra	Koch
Jessica	Beck	Katherine	Lacy
Jacqueline	Berger	Maria A	Nieves Colon
Jessica	Bolte	Caitlin	O'Connell
Joel	Bray	Samantha	Patterson
M. Loring	Burgess	Sarah	Peacock
Colleen	Cheverko	Rosie	Pitfield
Sarah	Duignan	Terren	Proctor
Sarah	Edlund	Rachel	Provazza
Amandine	Eriksen	Shelby	Putt
Katie	Faillace	Meagan	Rubel
Elen	Feuerriegel	Ingrid	Sierp
Matthew	Go	Noah	Simons
Laura	Goetz	Rick	Smith
Deanna	Goldstein	Mary	Studebaker-Reed
Alexis	Goots	Alexandra	Uhl
Nora	Heidel	Mary	Wilkins
Genevieve	Housman	Alexa	Wimberly
		Allysha	Winburn

The AAPA Student Presentation Awards

The deadline for entry to the AAPA Student Presentation was on March 1, 2016, through an online submission form. We received 45 entries (which included a 1,000 word essay). There were 31 in 2015 and 39 in 2014. These presentations will be evaluated by a team of 20 judges during the annual meeting in Atlanta. The judges are: Rebecca Ackerman, Bob Anemome, Michelle Bezanson, José Braga, Libby Cowgill, Lucas Delezene, Lee Gettler, Leslea Hlusko, Michaela Huffman, Rebecca Jabbour, Julie Lesnik, Rachel Menegaz, Jackson Njau, Phil Reno, Chris Schmitt, Daniel Temple, Erin Vogel, Anna Waterman, Tim Weaver, and Daniel Wescott.

Other Business

The Executive Committee discussed changing the name for this committee to better reflect its role within AAPA. The suggested new name is *Student Awar*ds.

We assisted the Graduate Student Representative on the Executive Committee, Melanie Beasely, in her development and implementation of a new web page for the AAPA site that highlights student-specific events in Atlanta.

Leslea J. Hlusko, Chair