Time: Friday April 15th, 2016 at 5:45 pm in Atlanta.

All members are invited to join us for the presentation of lifetime achievement and student awards and for the discussion of association business.  In an effort to be more eco-friendly, we will be posting information about the business meeting here as it becomes available.  This year we will be discussing and taking a preliminary vote on bylaws changes related to splitting the position of Secretary-Treasurer into two positions and changing the name of the Student Affairs committee.  See the links below for a PDF of the proposed changes.

Uncorrected proofs of the minutes of the St. Louis Meeting can also be read at the link below.

Complete Agenda

Call to Order: Susan Antón

Approval of 2015 Meeting Minutes: AJPA 2016: 159:362–380

AAPA Reports - Presentations

 AAPA Committee Reports Written* - (questions accepted from the floor)

Award Presentations                                       

  • Career Development Grants: Joan Richtsmeier
  • 2015 Student Presentation Awards and 2016 Pollitzer Student Travel Awards: Leslea Hlusko
  • Committee on Diversity - IDEAS Scholars, Undergrad Research Symposium Travel Awards and WIN Participant and Care Awards: Agustín Fuentes, Cara Wall-Scheffler, Andrea Taylor & Robin Bernstein
  • Charles R. Darwin Lifetime Achievement: Michael Crawford, Presented by Dennis O’Rourke
  • Gabriel W. Lasker Distinguished Service: Leslie Aiello, Presented by Will Harcourt-Smith

 AAPA Reports - Presentations Continued

 Affiliated Organizations

  • National Science Foundation: Rebecca Ferrell
  • Wenner-Gren Foundation: Leslie Aiello
  • AAAS: Karen Strier
  • BAS-AAA: Agustín Fuentes

 Old Business

  • Final Vote-Ethics Committee* Trudy Turner
  • New-Membership Category* Josh Snodgrass

 New Business

 Adjournment : Susan Antón

 written reports: ^provided at meeting; *posted online and emailed to 2016 membership in advance of meeting

Copyright © 2023 American Association of Biological Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University