American Association of Physical Anthropologists

Eighty-Seventh Annual Meeting

Austin, Texas, April 13, 2018

6:30 PM - 8:30 PM, Zilker 4, Hyatt Regency Hotel


Call to Order                                                               Leslie Aiello

Approval of 2017 Meeting Minutes                        AJPA 165: 378–408


AAPA Reports - Presentations

  • President’s Report*                                Leslie Aiello
  • Vice-President’s Report*                     J. Josh Snodgrass
  • Secretary-Treasurer’s Report*^       Rachel Caspari                         
  • AJPA Editor's Report*                            Peter Ellison
  • Yearbook Editor's Report*                   Lyle Konigsberg
  • Membership*^                                      Lisa Sattenspiel
  • Student Committee*                          Elle Fricano
  • Local Arrangements*                            Liza Shapira/Tony DiFiori


AAPA Committee Reports Written* - (questions accepted from the floor)

Nominations and Elections (Susan Antón), Career Development (Nate Dominy) Diversity (Susan Antón) History and Honors (Anne Stone), Student Affairs (Leslea Hlusko), Ethics (Graciela Cabana & Jen Wagner), Repatriation (Ben Auerbach), Website (Ed Hagen); Auction (Josh Snodgrass and Myra Laird),  Education (Briana Pobiner), Science Policy Committee (Karen Strier, Dennis O'Rourke)


Award Presentations                                         

  • Career Development Grants                                                                     Nate Dominy
  • Pollitzer Student Travel Awards                                                               Leslea Hlusko
  • COD IDEAS Scholars/ Undergrad Symposium Travel Awards             Susan Antón, Cara Wall-Scheffler
  • Charles R. Darwin Lifetime Achievement  Award to Ken Weiss         Presented by Joan Richtmeier          
  • Gabriel W. Lasker Distinguished Service Award to Ann Grauer        Presented by Susan Antón    


Affiliated Organizations

  • National Science Foundation                               Rebecca Ferrell
  • Wenner-Gren Foundation                                    Leslie Aiello
  • AAAS                                                                         Karen Strier
  • BAS-AAA                                                                  Melanie Beasley

Old Business

  • Name Change update:                                                                    Leslie Aiello
  • Final ByLaws vote – Duration of student membership             Rachel Caspari

 New Business

  • AAPA editor search                                                Leslie Aiello
  • Harassment Policy                                                 Leslie Aiello
  • 2019  Local Arrangements                                   Yohannes Haile-Selassie/Dennis Su
  • Other New Business                                              Leslie Aiello                                         
  • Resolutions                                                             Susan Antón

 Adjournment                                                                 Leslie Aiello


written reports: ^provided at meeting; *posted online and link emailed to 2018 membership in advance of meeting

Copyright © 2024 American Association of Biological Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University