To: Leslie Aiello, President, AAPA

From: Karen Strier, Co-chair of AAPA Science Policy Committee

Date: 17 February 2019

Re: AAPA Science Policy Report

The Science Policy committee has accomplished three aims since it was established in 2017:

- 1) Developed a Mission statement, available at: <u>http://www.physanth.org/about/committees/science-policy/aapa-science-policy-committee-broader-impacts-statement/</u>
 - We focus on five key areas of interest: Human story; Global Health; Ethics; Environment and Conservation; Education.
 - We encourage AAPA members to send us feedback.
- 2) Expanded the committee membership and established terms for committee members. Current members and terms as follows:
 - Karen Strier, Co-chair (2017-2021)
 - Dennis O'Rourke, Co-chair (2017-2021)
 - Robin Nelson, Liaison to the EC (2018-2021)
 - Omer Gokcumen, Member (2017-2020)
 - Amy Rector-Verrelli, Member (2017-2020)
 - Anne Stone, Member (2017-2019)
 - Jennifer Wagner, Member (2018-2020)
 - Darna Dufour, Member, HBA rep (2018-2020)
- 3) Developed a survey, which was sent to AAPA members over the summer of 2018, along with the AAPA Ethics Committee survey. Jennifer Wagner, who serves on both committees, tallied the responses (to be discussed at our 2019 committee meeting). Briefly, there were only 53 responses (77% of 52 respondents identified themselves as women).