2020 Report for the Executive Committee of the AAPA: Awards and History CommitteeRemote Filing

March 2021

I. Darwin and Lasker Awards

- A. We solicited and received nominations for three awards:
 - a. Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
 - b. Lasker Award for Outstanding Service
 - c. Media and Communications Outreach Award
- B. Using social media, email blasts, the AAPA conference portal, and the AAPA website, we solicited nominations for the Darwin and Lasker awards. Due to complications from COVID, all nominations were due on Jan 1 2021, as compared to our typical Oct. 15th deadline. Nominations from 2019 were held over and considered in this year's competition. Nominations are only held over for one calendar year. All nominations were submitted electronically. We required that everyone submitting a nomination also submit a "Nominator's Disclosure Form" asserting that they can attest to the ethical behavior of their nominee.
- C. This year we had seven nominations for the Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award. One of the nominations was a holdover from 2019. We had 1 nomination for the Lasker Award for Outstanding Service. We had 9 nominations for the Communication and Outreach Award. Eight of these nominations were holdovers from 2019. All of these nominations were distributed to members of the Executive Committee via Google Drive in mid-January. Voting concluded on January 30th. Members of the Executive Committee who submitted nominations on behalf of their colleagues recused themselves from voting.
- D. Our 2020 winners are:
 - a. Dr. Leslie Aiello (University College London) Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
 - b. Dr. Ed Hagen (Washington State University of Vancouver) Lasker Award for Outstanding Service
 - c. Dr. Briana Pobiner (Smithsonian Museum of Natural History) Communication and Outreach Award
- E. Members are encouraged to submit new nominations to Julienne Rutherford, by October 15th, 2021.