## 2019-2020 Report for the Executive Committee of the AAPA History & Honors Committee

## I. Darwin and Lasker Awards

- A. We solicited and received nominations for three awards:
  - a. Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
  - b. Lasker Award for Outstanding Service
  - c. Media and Communications Outreach Award
- B. Using social media, email blasts, the AAPA conference portal, and the AAPA website, we solicited nominations for the Darwin and Lasker awards. All nominations were due on October 15<sup>th</sup> 2019. Nominations from 2018 were held over and considered in this year's competition. Nominations are only held over for one calendar year. All nominations were submitted electronically. We required that everyone submitting a nomination also submit a "Nominator's Disclosure Form" asserting that they can attest to the ethical behavior of their nominee.
- C. This year we had 11 nominations for the Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award. Four of the nominations were holdovers from 2018. We had 2 nominations for the Lasker Award for Outstanding Service. One of these nominations was a holdover from 2018. In its inaugural year, we had 9 nominations for the Communication and Outreach Award. All of these nominations were distributed to members of the Executive Committee via Google Drive on December 13, 2019. Voting concluded on December 20<sup>th</sup>. Late votes were accepted until Dec. 26th. Members of the Executive Committee who submitted nominations on behalf of their colleagues recused themselves from voting.
- D. Our 2019 winners are:
  - a. Dr. Fatimah Jackson (Howard University) Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award
  - b. Dr. Karen Rosenberg (University of Delaware) Lasker Award for Outstanding Service
  - c. Dr. Agustín Fuentes (University of Notre Dame) Communication and Outreach Award
- E. Members are encouraged to submit new nominations to me, Robin Nelson, by October 15<sup>th</sup>, 2020.