Minutes Science Policy Committee Meeting Friday, 29 March 2019 12:15-2pm

Present: Omer Gokcumen (member), Robin Nelson (AAPA Ex Com member), Dennis O'Rourke (co-chair), Anne Stone (member), Karen Strier (co-chair)

- 1. Karen and Dennis reviewed the history of the committee and current members and their terms.
- 2. Discussion focused on what the Science Policy committee could/should do, especially considering that our survey from summer 2018 yielded few responses and little direction from AAPA membership
- 3. We concluded that our primary task for now should be to focus on communicating to AAPA membership about what, if anything, other societies with regards to Science Policy topics.
 - a. We each took responsibility for updated AAPA about other organizations, as follows:
 - i. AAAS & NAS: Karen Strier
 - ii. AAA: Robin Nelson
 - iii. Am Soc Hum Genetics: Dennis O'Rourke
 - iv. SAA: Dennis O'Rourke (until we have a Sci Pol member with stronger ties)
 - v. HBA: Darna Dufour (member of Sci Pol committee; missed our meeting so we need to ask her if she can do this)
 - vi. National Center for Science Education Omer Gokcumen
 - vii. NAGPRA (if possible): Dennis O'Rourke
 - viii. NSF Rebecca Ferrell
 - b. We agreed that each of us would report on our respective organization(s) at least twice each year, with the following floating and consistent timeframes:
 - i. Within 2 wks of the organization's annual meeting, if there is one
 - ii. Within 2 wks of the call for AAPA abstract/registration
 - c. Each Sci Pol committee member will send links and brief summaries to the other members of the Sci Pol committee, written in a form that can be forwarded by committee chair(s) to AAPA President, for publication on the Sci Pol page of the AAPA website
- 4. We agreed that this would avoid redundant efforts with other societies and sustain the presence and activity of the Sci Pol committee in the event that current events or AAPA interest calls on us to act as a committee for whatever reason.

Submitted by Karen B. Strier, drafted 30 March 2019, approved by committee 7 April 2020.