AAPA Membership Chair Report March 22, 2021 Prepared by Kristi Lewton

I. Membership Trends: 2013-2021

Although membership has generally increased from 2013-2018, membership decreased by 8% in 2019, and by 5.4% in 2020.

| | | | | | | | | 2021 (as of March 22, |
|------|------|------|------|------|------|------|------|--------------------------|
| 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019 | 2020 | 2021) |
| 1457 | 1563 | 1950 | 2271 | 2263 | 2254 | 2074 | 1963 | 1222 |

At the time of the 2020 AAPA Member Report (3-3-2020), there were a total of 1,883 members. This year the total membership count (as of 3/22/2021) is 1,222, indicating a 35% decrease in membership. Included among these 1,222 persons are 472 women and 155 men (of women and men, 4 reported being transgender), 3 nonbinary members, and 592 members who did not report their gender.

Since the 2020 AAPA Member Report, a total of 181 new members have joined the association (this is a 61% decrease in new members compared to 2019). The composition of new members is 72% women, 16% men, and 1% non-binary persons. The other 11% did not report gender. The majority of new members were students (68%). New student members were 76% graduate students, 23% undergraduate students, and 1 individual was a high school student.

II. Membership applicants

Between March 3, 2020 and March 22, 2021, a total of 181 people applied for AAPA Membership and were provisionally approved as new members. The new member applicants include 41 Regular members (including 4 members from qualifying countries), 17 Special members (including 3 members from qualifying countries), and 123 Student members (including 4 members from qualifying countries). In addition to new member applicants, there were 56 applications that were provisionally approved to transition to new membership categories. Of these, 16 members requested membership transitions between categories that do not need to be voted on (for example, Regular to Retired), and are not included in the lists below. The remaining 40 applications to transition between categories include Regular to Student (1), Student to Regular (34), Student to Special (5).

Some new membership applications were from members who had previously been voted on, but who had a membership lapse for five or more years. These members must be voted on as new members and are listed below.

All membership applications that require a vote are listed below. New membership applications are listed first, followed by applications to transition between membership categories.

New member applications (181 total):

Regular Member (41)

Andrews, Jeffrey Barrett, Brendan

Bell, April J

Borgerhoff Mulder, Monique

Boughner, Julia Braun, David Cleghorn, Naomi Cox, Samantha L Delgado, Miguel

Douglass, Kristina Guild

Eleazer, Courtney

Enard, David

Finaughty, Devin Alexander

Gamarra, Beatriz Godoy, Irene

González-José, Rolando

Gravlee, Clarence Hill, Brittany Elayne Holowka, Nicholas Jordan, Fiona

Marshack, Joshua McLemore, Monica R.

Ouattara, Karim Page, Abigail E Pierini, Federica

Pike, Ivy L

Porter, Samantha Thi Power, Eleanor

Rohnbogner, Anna Juliane Rowbotham, Samantha Kate Schneider-Crease, India

Sealy, Judith Clare
Shirley, Meghan
Starkweather, Katie
Steiper, Michael
Stueve, Megan
Tomczak, Paula
Valoriani, Satu

van Schaik, Katherine Douglas

Werner, Helen Marie

Yi, Yoonjung

Special Member (17)

Bailey, Christine

Berkeley, Rachel Lynne

Countee, Astrid

Frederick, Katelyn Irene Friedlander, Hanna Lapera, Maria Gabriela López Sosa, María Clara

Lunsford, Janae Monguí, Paula

Montagne, Meredith

Opack, Emily
Ostrum, Brett
Scott, Georgia
Scott, Karen A.
Suzuki, Yazawa
Thomas, Rae
Tsosie, Krystal Sara

Student Member (123)

Alami, Sarah
Anderson, Jordan
Angst, Chloë Elizabeth
Appelt, Cassy M.
Arbogast, Drew
Arnett, Patricia N
Barkmeier, Jonathan
Berezowski, Victoria
Bernard, Melissa
Bews, Elizabeth

Bhullar, Sanampreet Kaur

Bigué, Rose-Ann Blackburn, Andrea Botta, Florencia Natalia Brent, Katherine Elyse

Brooks, Emily Buckley, Gina Marie Chiu, Wing Lam Choi, Ahyun

Christopher, Lauren

Claypool, Christopher George

Cohen, Noa Connors, Ca'la

Corley, Emily Saunders Davis, Mekenzie R De Cree, Theresa Marie De Joux-Perry, Clare

DeGaglia, Cassandra Marie Seda

Dunn, Francesca Emily

Dunn, Rhian Edmonds, Emily R Ezzo, Ashley

Feezell, Randall Eugene

Fiala, Jeffrey Fields, Mara

Freiberger, Julia Cristina French, Gabrielle May Fry, Megan Hanna Gabbard, Valarie Lin

Gao, Xiuyan Gherardi, Chloe Gibbs, Bear Ginther, Anna Goldmann, Leslie Goodrich, Ellison

Groenewald, Patricia Aune

Hardin, Drew

Homer-King, Madison Hubbard, Eric B

Idso, Alexandra Cosette Ioannidou, Melania Jacobson, Zachary Johns-Rejano, Courtney Johnston, Hannah Kalluri, Sai Bharadwaja

Kaosa, Kristin Keeling, Brian A Kent, Justin Kilburn, Naomi Kimes, Olivia Lauren Klasson, Chris Larkin-Gero, Emma

Lawrentz, Heather Michelle

Lee, Minwoo Lee, Saein

Leppert Gomes, Amanda Lynn

Lohmann, Kailey Mace, Gabrielle

Macias, Jacquelyn Maree

Maynard, Keely Q Mayne, Gabriella

McCormack, Catherine Loretta

Mehalko, Olivia Meyer, Jana Valesca Miranda, Fiona

Mithani, Ruqaiya Banu Monroe, Isabelle Mormile, Isabel Jude

Mueller, Avis

Narváez-Torres, Pamela Rosalía

Nicosia, Christopher

Noble, Erica

Obregon, Elizabeth O'Farrill, William Peede, David

Pierce, Courtney Jeanne

Post, Nicholas Rabay, Chantal Reeves, Vanessa C. Roach, Janelle Roberge, Émy Scaggs, Shane

Schumacher, Cody Zachery

Shaw, Zoe

Sheldon, Alexandra Sibon, Hadley Spriggs, Karley Rae Stanton, Walker Stephen, Cynthia Stewart, Tahlia Jade Stoumbos, Ana Strack, Julius Summers, Siobhan Swayze, Joshua

Temkina, Anastasia

Tesi, Chiara

Trenbeath, Chelsea State
Tuitavuki, Kylie Aiea
Turner, Lillian Claire
Ugarte, Alexa
Van Ankum, Elsa
Vanhoof, Marie
Wakan, Shahar Osei
Walberg, Preston
Walker, Kiley

Welty, Shannon Conner

Whitney, Tabor

Whittemore, Anna Fancher

Whyms, Pamela Williams, Jessica

Woodert, Mirella Anastasia

Woollen, Katharine Wuterich, Gabriel

Members requesting transition between member categories (40 total):

Student Member to Regular Member (34)

Abondano, Laura A
Adams, Donovan M
Brasil, Marianne
Bright, Lisa N
Bryer, Margaret
Campbell, Jessica L
Ellwanger, Amanda Leigh
Ellwanger, Nicholas
Eriksen, Amandine

Eyre, Jennifer
Garcia, Sydney Smith
George, Rebecca L
Go, Matthew C.
Gremba, Allison P
Grosso, Alicia Rose
Harper, Christine M.
Kajokaite, Kotrina
Kozma, Elaine
Lad, Susan
Lee, Amanda B
Lee, Katharine M.N.

Lesciotto, Kate M

Mcguire, Sara A
Otarola-Castillo, Erik
Pacheco-Fores, Sofia I
Rathmann, Hannes
Reddy, Rachna
Simons, Evan A
Stamos, Peter A
Stone, Jessica
Verdugo, Cristina
Vlok, Melandri
Williams, Amanda
Zhang, Chi

Student Member to Special Member (5)

Adame, Ariela Marie A Feiler, Maria Gaddis, Katherine Elizabeth Mitchell, Delaney Yukyi, Nandar

Regular to Student Member (1)

Miller, Courtney A