Nominations and Elections Committee Report, 2021

The following report was submitted by Steven R. Leigh

A total of three Executive Committee member positions were open for election this year, including Treasurer, Student Programs Committee Chair, and History and Honors Committee Chair. Terms will begin Wednesday, 14 April 2021 following the business meeting and extend for varying terms, depending on the position.

Nominations (including self-nominations) were solicited from the AAPA membership through a number of avenues, including in the call for papers, the AAPA Newsletter and email blasts, and on the registration online system. We received nominations directly and through the abstract submission process, with a deadline of 16 October 2020. In addition to nominations, nominators (including self-nominees) submitted AAPA Nomination Disclosure Forms, as required for all candidates. Candidates are required to be regular members of the association.

A total of 54 eligible nominations were received. Once duplicate nominations were removed, a total of 33 individuals had been nominated for open positions. Of these, 14 declined the nomination, were already serving in an ongoing executive committee post, did not respond, or were nonmembers. This left a total of 19 candidates for these positions.

Names of candidates and their statements of interest were provided to the voting members of the Executive Committee for votes on 18 November 2020. Eleven eligible voting members of the Executive Committee were asked to rank candidates for Treasurer, Student Programs Committee Chair, and History and Honors Committee Chair. The two highest-ranking candidates for each position were placed on the ballot or a vote by the full AAPA membership.

The poll was opened via email to all Regular Members on 25 January 2021 and closed on 24 February 2021 at 11:59 PST. The results were certified by BAI and reported to the President-elect on 25 February 2021. The AAPA welcomes its new Executive Board Members: Graciela Cabana (Treasurer), Chelsey Juarez (Student Programs Committee Chair), and Julienne Rutherford (History and Honors Committee Chair). We also welcome our new Student Liaison, Sharon Toth. We extend our sincere thanks to all the candidates who generously agreed to run for election and to Heide Rohland and Ruedi Birenheide of BAI for their logistical help with the voting process