2017-18 Report from the AAPA Committee on Nominations and Elections Submitted by Susan Antón (Chair)

Nominations for Executive Committee of the AAPA

Three officer positions (President-Elect, Vice President, Secretary) and Two Executive Committee member positions were open for election this year. All terms begin Friday April 13, 2018 following the business meeting.

Nominations were solicited from the AAPA membership (in the call for papers, in the AAPA Newsletter, and on the registration online system). Nominations (including self nominations) were sent to Antón via email or via the registration online system. The deadline for nominations was October 16th, 2018.

The committee chair (Antón) triaged the nominee list to ensure all nominees were regular members in good standing. A total of 30 eligible nominations for two executive committee positions were made. For three officer positions, 42 eligible nominations were submitted some of which overlapped with executive committee member nominees. Because current members of the Executive Board were among those nominated for the officer positions, two nominating committees were formed: one for the presidential nomination (Antón [Chair], Aiello, Sattenspiel, Konigsberg) and the second for all other nominations (Antón [Chair], Aiello, Konigsberg, Snodgrass). These committees aimed to include multiple officers while at the same time representing multiple subdisciplines.

The committees were charged with narrowing the slate to two people per open position and a list of ranked alternates. The committees considered subdisciplinary representation, experience in the field, AAPA and other service, and rank when selecting nominees. Those selected were contacted to confirm their willingness to run and to serve if elected.

The poll opened via email to all Regular Members on 1 February 2018. Email reminders were sent to those who had not voted on February 14 and February 26, 2018. The poll closed Feb 28, 2018. Of 1114 regular members, 446 voted in this election. The results were certified by BAI and reported to the President and Past-President on March 1st, 2018.

Our new President-Elect is Anne Grauer.

Our new Vice President is Steve Leigh.

Our new Secretary is Graciela Cabana.

Nate Dominy is confirmed to fill the remaining two-years of Gregg Gunnell's term.

Our new Executive Committee Members are Robin Nelson and Christina Torres-Rouff.

Thank you to all the candidates and to the members of the nominations committee. Great thanks also to Heide Rohland and Ruedi Birenhide of BAI for logistical help.

Respectfully Submitted,

Susan Antón Past-President and Nominations Committee Chair