AABA History & Honors Chair's Annual Report, 2024-2025

Chair, Ashley Hammond
AABA Executive Committee meeting
March 14, 2025

1. Introduction

- a. The primary business of the History & Honors Committee centered on three significant association awards: the Charles R. **Darwin** Lifetime Achievement Award, Gabriel W. **Lasker** Service Award, and the AABA and Leakey Foundation Communication
 - & **Outreach** Award in Honor of Camilla Smith (Section 2). Secondary business this year was the continued implementation of the AABA Oral History Project (Section 3).

2. AABA Awards

a. Nominations

i. Procedures

- 1. Using social media, email blasts, the AAPA conference portal, and the AAPA website, we solicited nominations for the Darwin, Lasker, and Outreach Awards.
- 2. All nominations were due on October 15, 2024. Per the handbook, nominations from the previous year were held over for consideration this year.
- 3. We required that everyone submitting a nomination also submit a "Nominator's Disclosure Form" asserting that they can attest to the ethical behavior of their nominee.

ii. Categories

- 1. Darwin Award: 8 nominees for the Darwin award (3 new, 5 rollovers)
 - a. Some nominees received multiple nominations from different colleagues or groups of colleagues, resulting in a mixture of new and rollover materials. There were 13 nomination packages representing the 8 candidates.
- 2. Lasker Award: 1 nominee for the Lasker award (1 new)
- 3. Outreach Award: 2 nominees for the Outreach Award (1 new, 1 rollover)

b. Voting Process

- i. Nominations were collated for each award and distributed via Google Drive to all voting members of the Executive Committee
- ii. As in prior years, I used rank order voting via Google Form.
- iii. For future consideration of Handbook guidelines: It is not clear from the Handbook whether nominators who are voting members of the Executive Committee should participate in discussion of individuals that they have nominated.

c. Awardees

- i. Charles R. Darwin Lifetime Achievement Award: Kay Behrensmeyer
- ii. Gabriel W. Lasker Service Award: Lorena Madrigal
- iii. AABA and Leakey Foundation Communication & **Outreach** Award in Honor of Camilla Smith: **Sang-Hee Lee**

d. Procedural issues

i. We require the nominators sign a disclosure form indicating their nominee meets the expectations of the AABA Code of Conduct, the AABA Professional Ethics Policy, and the AABA Statement of Sexual and Other Harassment.

- ii. We hope to move to a one-page nomination and disclosure forms for all signatories. This has been proposed in prior years but not implemented.
- iii. As part of our vetting process, which includes review of nominees by all Executive Committee members, we will ask the H-CARE and Membership committees to review the nominees against any reports they have received.

3. Oral History Project

- a. Jon Marks and Karen Rosenberg are continuing the Oral History Project, which is a project started in 2022 and aimed at interviewing members of our community. The interviewee selection process includes Jon and Karen proposing a list of potential interviewees to the History and Honors Chair and the Membership Chair, and all interviewers and interviewees completing a disclosure form. Interviews are conducted over Zoom, edited, sent to the interviewee for approval, and will be posted on the AABA website at a future date (hopefully soon).
- b. Three members of our discipline have been interviewed: Friderun Ankel Simons, Alan Mann and Pat Shipman, with several more in the planning stage.
- c. Jon and Karen welcome suggestions about who to interview. They are currently focusing on the oldest members of our field. They would also be happy to have help from others in conducting interviews. If you have suggestions about who to interview, please contact Jon or Karen and provide:
 - i. a brief but informative description of interviewee and their impact on the field
 - ii. link to a website and/or publication