Science Policy

The AABA Science Policy Committee advises the association on how to best promote, maintain, and communicate rigorous science. The committee’s work is advisory to the AABA officers.   The committee will advise and prepare AABA to be in the best position to react to policy changes that affect our ability to fund, communicate and undertake our science as well as to be proactive in promoting our science, our ability to do science, and to preserve and expand available funding mechanisms.  The committee is a non-partisan but pro-science group. 

Postings to the Science Policy ribbon on the landing page relate to the committee’s work and to information from AABA officers on related topics. A link to past posts is below.

News and Announcements

This is a 2-year committee, in effect from July 2024 – June 2026. The charge of the committee is to examine historical data from skeletal remains.

Science Policy Broader Impacts


Lumila Menéndez, Chair, University of Bonn
Noriko Seguchi, Kyushu University
Marien Beguelin, Universidad Nacional de La Plata
Heather JH Edgar, University of New Mexico
Erika L’Abbe, University of Pretoria
Marin Pilloud, University of Nevada Reno
Mirsha Quinto Sánchez, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
Michael Rivera, University of Hong Kong
Teresa Wilson, Louisiana State University