Call for Executive Committee Nominations (Deadline: October 16, 2017)

Executive Committee Position(s): Nominations are requested from the AAPA membership for the following four positions: 

Job descriptions can be found in the associations Constitution and Bylaws.

Eligibility: Nominees must be AAPA Regular Members in good standing. Any AAPA member (student, regular, or special) may make a nomination. Self nominations are accepted. To check a nominee’s membership status, logon at and go to the directory of members.

Nomination Slate: From the proposed, eligible nominees, the AAPA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Susan Antón, will recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The President will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

Voting: A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

Current AAPA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Members primary duties are in parentheses following the job title. Please note that beginning in 2018, the Secretary/Treasurer position has been divided. The current Secretary/Treasurer (Rachel Caspari) will continue as Treasurer and we will elect a new Secretary.

Leslie Aiello                    President

Susan Antón                  Past-President (Nominations)

Josh Snodgrass              Vice-President (Meetings) (up for election)

Rachel Caspari               Secretary/Treasurer

Peter Ellison                   Editor, American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg          Editor, Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Lisa Sattenspiel             ExComm Member (Membership)

Leslea Hlusko                ExComm Member (Student Programs) (up for election)

Anne Stone                    ExComm Member (History and Honors) (up for election)

Gregg Gunnell               ExComm Member (Career Development)

To Submit a Nomination: All nominations must be received on or before October 16, 2017.

Submit a nomination when you submit your abstract online at

Or, e-mail nominations to: Dr. Susan Antón  –