Call for Executive Committee Nominations (Deadline: October 15, 2018)

Executive Committee Position: Nominations are requested from the AAPA membership for the following position: 

The Executive Committee manages the affairs of the association and members are elected to a three year term. The committee meets in person once a year, immediately before the Annual Meeting,  and virtually as required throughout the year. Each committee member is tasked with a specific responsibility (listed below for the current Executive Committee). The person elected to the upcoming vacancy will chair the Membership and Credentials Committee and oversee the  nomination and election of members.  More information about the role of the Executive Committee and of the Membership and Credentials Committee can be found in the Association’s Constitution and Bylaws.

Eligibility: Nominees must be AAPA Regular Members in good standing. Any AAPA member (student, regular, or special) may make a nomination. Self nominations are accepted. To check a nominee’s membership status, logon at and go to the directory of members.

Nomination Slate: From the proposed, eligible nominees, the AAPA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Anne Grauer, will recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The President will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

Voting: A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

Current AAPA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Members primary duties are in parentheses following the job title. 

Leslie Aiello                         President

Anne Grauer                       President-Elect (Nominations)

Steve Leigh                         Vice-President (Meetings) 

Rachel Caspari                   Treasurer

Graciela Cabana                Secretary

Peter Ellison                       Editor, American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg                 Editor, Yearbook of Physical Anthropology

Lisa Sattenspiel                 ExComm Member (Membership) (up for election)

Christina Torres-Rouff     ExComm Member (Student Programs) 

Robin Nelson                     ExComm Member (History and Honors) 

Nate Dominy                     ExComm Member (Career Development)

To Submit a Nomination: