Call for Executive Committee Nominations (Deadline: October 17, 2022)

Executive Committee Positions: The Executive Committee manages the affairs of the association. The committee meets in person once a year, immediately before the Annual Meeting, and virtually as required throughout the year. Each committee member is tasked with a specific responsibility (listed below for the current Executive Committee). More information about the role of the Executive Committee and of the Membership and Credentials Committee can be found in the Association’s Constitution and Bylaws.

In 2023, we will be holding a special election for AABA Treasurer to replace current Treasurer, Graciela Cabana, who will be taking on a new role as Yearbook of Biological Anthropology Co-Editor immediately following our 2023 annual business meeting.  The standard term is four years, although this election will cover only the two years remaining in Dr. Cabana’s term.  Candidates will be expected to complete this two-year term, with the option of running for a regular four-year term.

Treasurer (Two-Year Term election, eligible to run again for the typical Four-Year Term)

The Treasurer is responsible for drafting and overseeing the AABA annual budget, maintaining financial records, creating an annual Financial Report, and working with other ExComm members and BAI on all fiscal matters.

Eligibility: Nominees must be AABA Regular Members in good standing. The Treasurer should ideally have prior experience in serving on the AABA Executive Committee. Any AABA member (student, regular, or special) may submit a nomination. Self nominations are encouraged. To check a nominee’s membership status, login here  and navigate to the “Member Directory.”

Nomination Slate:
 From the proposed eligible nominees, the AABA Nominations Committee, chaired by Dr. Leslea Hlusko will seek input from the Executive Committee regarding the slate of nominees and recommend to the Executive Committee two candidates per position and alternates for the official ballot. The AABA Nominations Committee Chair will contact potential candidates in advance of the ballot to obtain their willingness to run.  

 A link to the online ballot will be emailed to Regular Members in January. The poll closes in late February.

To Submit a Nomination:

Current AABA Executive Committee (ExComm) members

Committee duties, if any, are in parentheses following the job title. 

Steve Leigh: President

Leslea Hlusko: President Elect

Kristi Lewton: Vice President

Graciela Cabana: Treasurer

Amy Rector: Secretary

Trudy Turner: Editor, American Journal of Biological Anthropology

Lyle Konigsberg: Editor, Yearbook of Biological Anthropology

Stephanie Meredith: ExComm Member (Membership)

Chelsey Juarez: ExComm Member (Student Programs)

Julienne Rutherford: ExComm Member (History & Honors)

Lauren Schroeder: ExComm Member (Professional Development)