AAPA awards seven prizes to outstanding presentations at the annual meeting whose first author is a student. The prizes are the Juan Comas, Earnest Hooton, Aleš Hrdlička, Mildred Trotter, and Sherwood Washburn prizes and two AAA-AAPA Anatomy in Anthropology prizes. The prizes honoring Juan Comas, Aleš Hrdlička, Mildred Trotter, and Sherwood Washburn are for excellent presentation of either a podium or poster presentation. The Earnest A. Hooton prize is given for the best poster presentation. The Mildred Trotter prize is given for a superior presentation on bones and teeth, whereas the others are unrestricted as to subject matter.  The AAA-AAPA Anatomy in Anthropology prizes are co-sponsored by the American Association of Anatomists and the AAPA and given yearly subject to co-funding from AAA. They honor the poster and podium presentations that are judged to best implement either traditional or state-of-the-art anatomical methodologies (e.g., histology, pathology, immunohistochemistry, gross dissection, imaging, developmental genetics, etc.) in innovative anthropological research. Research may be on past and living humans and nonhuman primates, or other animal models as long as the context is anthropological.

 Eligibility: To be eligible for a prize, a paper or poster must meet the following criteria:

  1. The first author must be a student member (or special member who is a student) of the AAPA at the time of abstract submission who has not previously won a prize for an AAPA presentation prize. 
  2. Individuals who have completed all terminal degree requirements before the abstract submission deadline are ineligible for a student prize. However, the first author may be a Regular Member at the time of presentation.
  3. The first author must be a member of the AAPA at the time the meeting is held (Student or Regular).
  4. The paper and the project to be presented must be primarily the work of the first author.
  5. The abstract must have been accepted for either a podium or poster presentation of the main AAPA meeting (exclusive of the COD Undergraduate Research Symposium).
  6. The first author student must personally make the presentation of the paper or poster.
  7. A summary of the presentation must be submitted to the competition by March 1, 2017.

Application Process: A summary of your presentation, following the guidelines below and the online guidelines must be submitted online by March 1, 2017. The online submission for this will be available AFTER all submission decisions are e-mailed in late December. This requirement replaces the need for a full manuscript.

Detailed instructions will be provided online, but you will need the following information: 

  1. Title; 
  2. Full names of authors and institution addresses; 
  3. If the paper is multi-authored, state the contributions of each of the authors in terms of intellectual and/or methodological investment; 
  4. If two student co-authors contributed equally to the paper, and wish to be considered as co-principal investigators (co-PI’s) of the paper, indicate that this is the case. Should they win an award, they will each receive a check for half the amount of the total award. 
  5. The date, time, and session number of your presentation.
  6.  A brief summary of the presentation (up to 1000 words, excluding references) organized under the following headings a) Research questions or hypotheses; b) Background to questions; c) Methods used to answer the questions; d) Results; e) Discussion; f) Conclusions; g) Bibliography

Submit online by March 1, 2017.

Review and Decisions: The Student Affairs Committee judges the written summaries and the visual/oral presentations given at the AAPA meetings for quality of ideas and clarity of presentation. Prizes are awarded at the Closing and Awards Reception on the last evening of the Annual Meetings. 

Further information may be obtained from the Student Affairs Committee Chair Dr. Leslea Hlusko [email protected]

Copyright © 2022 American Association of Biological Anthropologists.
Site programming and administration: Ed Hagen, Department of Anthropology, Washington State University